Zucchini Boats

I’ve been running across Zucchini Boat recipes on Pinterest lately, and decided it was finally time to try one. I looked at numerous recipes and wasn’t impressed. So, I decided to come up with my own recipe.

Ingredients

  • 3 Zucchini
  • ¼ of a red onion
  • ¼ to of a red pepper and a green pepper
  • 2 mushrooms
  • 6 slices of pepperoni
  • Ketchup
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Olive oil
  • Cheese

I wasn’t exactly precise in my measurements so add or take away as per your taste. For example, I only added the pepperoni and ketchup to 1 zucchini (2 halves) for Josh, and I would add more cheese next time.

Preheat oven to 375°. Slice the ends off the zucchini, cut in half lengthways, and scoop out the flesh. I used a metal teaspoon, but a melon baller would make quick work of it. Dice up the zucchini flesh, red onion, red and green pepper, and mushrooms.

2014-09-02 12.36.21

Heat olive oil in a pan, once hot add vegetables and sauté until soft.

2014-09-02 12.40.49

I separated out about and added diced pepperoni, ketchup, and cheese. I added just cheese to the remaining . Oil the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan, and don’t make the mistake I did and pull out your pretty pan that your mother-in-law got you for your wedding and then find the zucchini don’t fit so you have to pull out your stained Pyrex (creating more dishes to wash). Does anyone know how to get the stains out of Pyrex? Place your zucchini halves in the pan and spoon the cooked mixture into them.

2014-09-02 12.51.25

I baked them for 25 minutes. They were soft and just a little crunchy, which I liked. If you want them softer cook them a little longer.

2014-09-02 13.30.27

These were so good that I will admit there was none left. Josh even liked them so much he suggested eating them again and trying BBQ sauce instead of ketchup! Score one for more veggies in our diets! After eating them I thought some eggplant would have been good in them, or making them for breakfast with ham, eggs, and cheese. Yummm!

Leave a Reply

